About the Awards Making a difference

Now in its 43rd year, the People of the Year Awards is the longest-running awards event and widely recognised as one of the highest accolades a person can receive in Ireland.

Rehab Group, in partnership with RTÉ, organise the awards each year to give public recognition of the achievement of those, who in their own way, have made such a positive impact on Irish society. As Rehab strives to improve the lives of the 20,000 who use its services, the People of the Year Awards recognises those who improve our communities.

Based on nominations received from the public, the People of the Year Awards honours unsung heroes who have made a difference in the lives of others, to household names who’ve made a difference to people’s lives on a national and international level.

Chosen by the public through an open nominations process, the winners are then finalised by an adjudicating committee comprising leading members of RTÉ, Rehab, community, public, business and media sectors.

Past winners include many of the country’s greatest achievers, including Katie Taylor, Terry Wogan, John Hume, Robbie Keane, Veronica Guerin, Paul O’Connell, Christy Moore, Sonia O’Sullivan and Rory McIlroy.

The Awards also recognise community groups and inspirational, courageous, and talented members of our society, including Davitt Walsh, Det Garda Adrian Donohoe, Fiona Doyle and Yes Equality.