People of the Year uses cookies.

By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more.

People of the Year

Rehab RTÉ
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter


Days left to nominate

About the Awards

The People of the Year Awards

Now in its 42nd year, the People of the Year Awards are not just the primary awards event in Ireland, they are also among the longest-running. They are widely recognised as one of the highest accolades a person can receive in this country.

Based on nominations received from members of the public, the People of the Year Awards give public recognition of the achievement of those who, in their own way, have made such a positive impact on Irish society.

The Awards recognise a unique range of people - from unsung heroes who have quietly made a difference and enhanced the lives of others in communities, to the household names who have made a real difference to people’s lives on a national and international level.

Past winners include many of the country’s greatest achievers and those who have captured the hearts of the nation. They include such well-known names as Katie Taylor, Sir Bob Geldof, Padraig Harrington, Christy Moore, Sonia O’Sullivan, John Hume, Senator George Mitchell, T.K. Whitaker, Fr. Shay Cullen and the late Veronica Guerin. These people, along with all the others to be honoured, have made very different, yet extraordinary contributions to life in Ireland since the Awards were first established in 1975. See a list our current and previous People of the Year Award winners.

Moreover, every winner has been chosen by the people of Ireland through a nominations process and finalised by an adjudicating committee comprising leading members of the public service, community, business and media sectors.

The recipients of previous Awards include inspirational, courageous, talented and dedicated members of our society, and those who have made a huge contribution to Irish life.